Within your account, you have the ability to share and collaborate with other users by granting them access to one or more of your workspaces.
Sharing workspaces is great for accomplishing tasks like:
- Speeding up testing cycles
- Working together to diagnose data issues
- Planning and coordinating go live activities.
When you share a workspace, you are granting access to some, but not all of the information within that workspace. Here's what the other company can and cannot see.
|Your Partner Can See||Your Partner Cannot See|
|The list of flow executions in the search panel||The "Logs" screen inside of a flow execution|
|The flow execution details screen||The "Files" screen inside of a flow execution|
|Any comments on the Integration screen||Any settings screens|
|Any comments on a flow execution|
To get started with sharing a workspace, follow these steps:
- Clicking on the Workspace settings button in the navigation bar
- Choose Integrations
- Click Add A New Integration or pick the existing integration you want to share
- If you are creating a new Integration, input a Name and a Description, select your integrations, then click add.
- On the Integration settings screen, under the Sharing section and click New
- On the pop-up screen enter the Workspace's Short Code (click here for instructions on how to find the short code)
- Click Share
To remove a workspace's sharing, go back to the workspace settings page and click remove on the row with the company name.
Logs & Files
You might wonder why we don't allow the other company to see the Logs & Files screens. This is a lot of useful data, that is very helpful for troubleshooting a transaction.
The reason is that the files generated by your system often contain a lot of data that you aren't passing along in the data you finally send to your partner.
For example, a freight forwarder might send a full shipment file into Chain.io that includes both the buy and sell costs for local delivery. That forwarder might use this file to generate an invoice upload for their customer. If the customer had access to the files tab, they'd be able to see both the buy and sell costs in the raw data.
For that reason we make sure that the data in the files & logs is kept private to your company.
If you'd like to give a partner access to the logs and files for a single execution, click the Share button inside that execution.
You can also share all logs and files by checking the Auto Share checkbox when setting up your flow. If you edit an existing flow, auto share will only be enabled for flows executed after you check the box and save the flow.
Please sign in to leave a comment.